A history book discussion group, led by MHS board member Lyle Cubberly, Ph.D., and by other volunteer members, meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 7 pm at the Allis-Bushnell House at 853 Boston Post Road. Please note that handicapped access is available; limited parking is in the rear. (In case of inclement weather, the group typically delays the meeting to the fourth Tuesday of the month.)

At each meeting, participants can offer suggestions for readings. Books set aside at the E. C. Scranton Memorial Library in Madison can be borrowed by library-card-holding participants.

MHS members and the public are welcome at no charge. Drop-in visitors and teen readers are welcome.

For more information, please contact the MHS at 203.245.4567. You may add your email address to a History Book Group list by writing an email to moderator Lyle Cubberly at 1lachawk@att.net.

2017 History Book Group Schedule and Titles

January 17
1415: Agincourt

Anne Curry

As night fell in Picardy on Thursday October 24, 1415, Henry V and his English troops, worn down by their long march after the taking of Harfleur and diminished by the dysentery they had suffered there, can little have dreamt that the battle of the next day would give them one of the most complete victories ever won. Anne Curry’s startling history recreates the campaign and battle from the perspectives of the English and the French. One of the best battle accounts ever published, Anne Curry has updated this classic work in honor of 600th anniversary of Agincourt.

February 21
The Concise History of Ireland
(NEW edition)
Sean Duffy

This one-volume survey is complemented by maps, photographs, and diagrams. Duffy has written a text of exceptional clarity, stressing the enduring themes of Ireland's long cultural continuity; the central importance of its relationships with Britain and mainland Europe; and the intractability of the ethnic and national divisions in modern Ulster.

March 21
Mohawk Baronet - Sir William Johnson

James Thomas Flexner

In this "scholarly, stirring, and brightly written study," Flexner writes an in-depth biography of one of the most interesting figures in eighteenth-century America. Full of color and incident, it illuminates Indian life, the colonial frontier, the wars with the French, the economic forces based on furtrading and land speculation, and the tangled relations of the crown, royal governors, and New World assemblies. The personality of the indomitable Johnson, has" never before been so effectively depicted."

April 18
1177 BC: The Year Civilization Collapsed

Eric H. Cline

In this account of the causes of this "First Dark Ages," Cline tells the gripping story of interconnected failures, invasions revolts, earthquakes, drought, and the cutting of international trade routes. Bringing to life the vibrant multicultural world of great civilizations, he draws a sweeping panorama of the empires and globalized peoples of the Late Bronze Age and shows that it was their very interdependence that hastened their dramatic collapse and ushered in a dark age that lasted centuries. A compelling combination of narrative and scholarship, 1177 B.C. sheds new light on the complex ties that gave rise to and ultimately destroyed the flourishing civilizations of the Late Bronze Age--and set the stage for the emergence of classical Greece.

May 16
The Age of Gold: The California Gold Rush and the New American Dream

H. W. Brands

“I have found it.” These words, uttered by the man who first discovered gold on the American River in 1848, triggered the most astonishing mass movement of peoples since the Crusades. California’s gold drew fortune-seekers from the ends of the earth. It accelerated America’s imperial expansion and exacerbated the tensions that exploded in the Civil War. And, as H. W. Brands makes clear in this spellbinding book, the Gold Rush inspired a new American dream—the “dream of instant wealth, won by audacity and good luck.” He tells this epic story from the perspectives of adventurers, entrepreneurs, prospectors, soldiers, and scoundrels, imparting a visceral sense of the distances they traveled, the suffering they endured, and the fortunes they made and lost.

June 20
Jamestown, Quebec, Santa Fe: Three North American Beginnings
James Kelly and Barbara Clark Smith 

This illustrated volume published by the Smithsonian Institution in 2007 explores the then-400th anniversaries of the settlement of Quebec, Santa Fe, and Jamestown, which took place nearly simultaneously. A large-format treatment with vivid photographs of maps, paintings, and artifacts, this book, one reviewer said, “is thoughtful and accessible, and full of long neglected historical information."

July 18
Unlikely Allies: A Playwright and a Spy Saved the American Revolution
Joel Paul

Connecticut merchant Silas Deane was a member of the Continental Congress, and he traveled to France to persuade the king to support the colonists in their struggle with England. Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais was a playwright who had access to the arms and ammunition that Deane needed. And the Chevalier d'Éon was a diplomat and sometime spy for the French king who ignited a crisis that persuaded the French to arm the Americans. This is the true story of how three remarkable people lied, cheated, stole, and cross-dressed across Europe to gain France's aid as the War of American Independence hung in the balance.

August 22
The French-Canadian Heritage in New England
Gerald Brault

An American of French-Canadian descent, Brault weaves the dual history of French Canadians -- Acadians and Québécois -- into his account of the history and development of Franco-American culture and its contemporary situation. Drawing upon historical works and literature of the period, he provides detailed description of early life in Quebec and Acadia and analyzes the forces that led to migration in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. His own family history provides insight into the experience of being Franco-American, offering a perspective that reveals how these people feel close to both Canada and France while also being solidly and patriotically American.

September 19
40 Miles a Day on Beans and Hay: An Enlisted Soldier Fighting the Indian Wars
Don Rickey Jr.

With this engaging book, the enlisted men in the United States Army during the Indian Wars (1866-91) need no longer be mere shadows behind their commanding officers. Through their labors, combats, and endurance, these men created a framework of law and order that contributed to the settlement and development of the country. Psychologically and physically isolated their fellow Americans, many enlisted men were barely able to scribble their names, so Rickey asked more than three hundred living veterans to supply information about their army experiences through questionnaires, personal accounts, and personal interviews. Whether the soldier is speaking for himself or through the author in his role as commentator-historian, this is the first documented account of the mass personality of the rank and file during the Indian Wars,

October 17
When America First Met China: An Exotic History of Tea, Drugs and Money in the Age of Sail
Eric Jay Dolin

Ancient China collides with newfangled America in this brilliant epic tale of opium smugglers, sea pirates, and dueling clipper ships. Dolin traces our fraught relationship with China back to its roots: the unforgiving seas that separated a rising naval power from a battered ancient empire. A “prescient fable for our time,” this book sheds light on our modern relationship with China. The furious trade in furs, and opium, might have catalyzed America’s emerging economy, but it also sparked an ecological and human rights catastrophe with reverberations still felt today. This page-turning saga of pirates and politicians, coolies and concubines, is a must-read for fans of Philbrick or Kurlansky.

November 21
Fur, Fortune and Empire: The Epic History of the Fur Trade in America
Eric Jay Dolin

Best-selling author Eric Jay Dolin chronicles the rise and fall of the fur trade of old, when the rallying cry was "get the furs while they last." Beavers, sea otters, and buffalos were slaughtered, and their precious pelts were made into extravagant hats, coats, and sleigh blankets. Read this history to understand how North America was explored, exploited, and settled, while its native people were alternately enriched and exploited by the trade. As Dolin demonstrates, fur was both an economic elixir and an agent of destruction and was inextricably linked to such key events in American history as the French and Indian War, the American Revolution, the War of 1812, the relentless pull of Manifest Destiny, and the opening of the West.

December 19
The Hero of the Empire: The Boer War, a Daring Escape and the Making of Winston Churchill

Candice Millard

This book is a thrilling narrative of Winston Churchill's extraordinary and little-known exploits during the Boer War. At age twenty-four, Winston Churchill was convinced it was his destiny to become prime minister of England, and he believed that to achieve his goal he must do something spectacular on the battlefield. Churchill arrived in South Africa in 1899 to cover the brutal colonial war the British were fighting with Boer rebels. Just two weeks after his arrival, the soldiers he was accompanying on an armored train were ambushed, and Churchill was taken prisoner. Remarkably, he pulled off a daring escape—and then traversed hundreds of miles of enemy territory, alone, with little except his wits to guide him.
Millard spins an epic story of bravery, savagery, and chance encounters with a cast of historical characters with whom Churchill would later share the world stage.

The Madison Historical Society © 2017 - All Rights Reserved